Posted by: iangilbert | June 15, 2012

Traffic & Parking

Last night I went to observe my first formal public council meeting of the new civic year. This was the council’s traffic & parking working party. As I took my seat, my first thought was ‘were are the rest of the Conservatives?’ It will take a while for me to adjust to the fact that the Conservatives no longer get a majority on every committee.

Discussions on the traffic & parking working party rarely divide along party-political lines though. My main interest was to see what was said about our call for a West Road crossing. My colleague David Norman who has taken over as the Labour representative on the committee made a number of very good points, such as the fact that it is a long stretch of road without a crossing, there are schools in the area, and cars travel at quite a speed. Officers are going away to look at the priority list for crossing, because particularly in the current climate there is never enough money to do all the things we want. We shall keep up the pressure!

Leave a Reply

Categories

