Posted by: iangilbert | August 21, 2012

The holidays are almost over

Although I won’t get a proper holiday this year, for the past few weeks I’ve been taking it easy. The lull in the council’s decision-making process means that for once I’ve had whole weeks clear of meetings, I’ve still been visiting the council surgery and dealing with some phone-calls from residents but mostly my evenings have been my own. Sadly I haven’t managed to do half the things I planned with my quiet time!

However, this lull is nearly over. Tonight brings a shadow-portfolio briefing for support services (because there are only six Labour councillors and eight portfolios I cover support services as well as being group leader) then there is a meeting of the Chelmsford Avenue area Community Circle. Looking ahead to the autumn, the council will be faced will a whole load of difficult and contentious decisions, such as what we do about the cut in council tax benefit and the future of South Essex Homes.

Leave a Reply

Categories

